02 December 2021

Allahabad University

Psychology Alumni Association

Honorary Members

The Association shall have an Advisory Board nominated at the General Body Meet. Honorary Members and General Body members are eligible to be nominated as a member of the Advisory Board. The present Advisory Board members are-

Prof. R.C. Tripathi

Prof. R.C. Tripathi got trained at Sagar University, IIT Kharagpur, and University of Michigan, Ann Arbor from where he received his doctoral degree in Organisational Behaviour. He was earlier Professor and Head, Department of Psychology of the University of Allahabad (1977-2002), and Pro-Vice-Chancellor, University of Allahabad, and Director of G.B.Pant Social Science Institute, Allahabad. Under his leadership, it became a UGC Centre of Excellence in Psychology in 1984. R.C. Tripathi is a National Fellow of the Indian Council for Social Science Research, India. His other administrative assignments have been Member University Grants Commission, Member ICSSR. He has been a national lecturer and gone on visiting assignments to Tilburg University, The Netherlands, Wake Forest University, USA and the University of Michigan. Professor Tripathi has served on important bodies of higher education in the country. He has been a member of the University Grants Commission, Indian Council for Social Science Research,  and the Indian National Commission of Cooperation with UNESCO.  He has served as the President of the National Academy of Psychology, India, and also as a Regional President of the Indian Academy of Applied Psychology. He was Secretary-General of the section of “Psychology and National Development of the International Union of Psychological Sciences.  He has served on the editorial boards of more than half a dozen national and international journals. At present, he is the Editor-in-Chief of Psychology and Developing Societies, an international journal published by SAGE Publications India.


Prof. Janak Pandey

Janak Pandey a Ph.D. graduate of Kansas State University (1974), served at the Psychology Department, University of Allahabad (1978–2010) and the Department of Humanities and Social Sciences, Indian Institute of  Technology, Kanpur (1974-78). He was a Visiting Professor at the University of Manitoba (1994) and Wake Forest University (1986–1987). He was the Founder  Vice-Chancellor (2009–2014) of the Central University of Bihar; Head, Centre for Behavioural and Cognitive Sciences,  Allahabad University (2002–2009); and Director (1996–2002), GB Pant Institute of Social Sciences,  Allahabad. He has been also a National Fellow, Indian Council of Social Sciences  Research; Fellow  of the International  Association  of Applied Psychology; Honorary Fellow of the International  Association for Cross-Cultural Psychology; and Fellow of the National  Academy of Psychology. His publications include scientific papers/chapters on social influence, environmental stressors, and contemporary social issues, two rounds of six volumes of review of psychological research in India.


Prof. R. K. Naidu

The Honorary committee shall comprise of members who have either served the department as a faculty member and in any other capacity, nominated by the executive committee, have been associated with the Department of Psychology, University of Allahabad, or have made a significant contribution to the field of psychology.